Leicestershire Indoor Bowling Association History

The LIBA which was formed and registered in 1979 by a number of players from the Leicester Slater Street Indoor Bowling Club.

The first President of the association was Walter Gough followed in 1980 by Bill Brindley and then Denis Bird the following two years.

Since the association was formed there has been 29 Presidents or Chairman with some serving 2 terms in office and more recently our current chairman serving 9 years. (See Honorary Life Members Link for details)

The LIBA is made up of 7 affiliated clubs which include Barwell, Carlton, Charnwood, Church Gresley, Harborough & District, Leicester and Melton & District all of whom have a collective male membership of almost 2,000. (See affiliated club link for more details)

The Association is affiliated to the English Indoor Bowling Association (EIBA) the Midland Counties Indoor Bowling Association (MCIBA) and the Midland Seniors League (MSIBL).

The longest serving member on the committee is Martin Cooke who has held a variety of posts since 1989 but primarily the role of Honorary Secretary